• Six former Seahawks nominated for Pro Football Hall of Fame class of 2020

    By: KIRO 7 News Staff


    CANTON, Ohio - Six former Seattle Seahawks are among the 122 nominees for the 2020 Pro Football Hall of Fame class. 

    The modern-era nominees, of players whose careers ended less than 25 years ago, were announced Wednesday. 

    >> Related: Seahawks looking for first win in Pittsburgh in nearly 20 years

    The former Seahawks nominated include: 

    Quarterback Dave Krieg 

    Krieg joined the Seahawks after he went undrafted in the 1980 NFL Draft out of Milton College. Krieg played for the Seahawks from 1980 until 1991 and ranks second in franchise history with 26,132 passing yards and 195 touchdown passes. He played in the NFL for 19 years and was inducted into the Seahawks Ring of Honor in 2004. 

    Running Back Shaun Alexander 

    Alexander was a first-round pick by the Seahawks in the 2000 NFL Draft after starring at the University of Alabama. He played with the Seahawks until 2007 and ranks first in franchise history with 9,429 rushing yards. Alexander finished his career 100 rushing touchdowns. In 2005, he helped lead the Seahawks to their first Super Bowl appearance and won the NFL MVP after rushing for 1,880 yards and scoring 27 rushing touchdowns. 

    Running Back Chris Warren 

    Warren was a fourth-round pick by the Seahawks in the 1990 NFL Draft after playing at Ferrum College in Virginia. He played for the Seahawks until 1997 and ranks second in franchise history with 6,706 rushing yards. Warren also played for the Dallas Cowboys and Philadelphia Eagles before retiring, and ran for 7,696 rushing yards in his career. 

    Running Back Ricky Watters

    Originally a second-round pick in the 1991 NFL Draft by the San Francisco 49ers, Watters also played for the Philadelphia Eagles before finishing his career in Seattle. With the Seahawks, Watters rushed for 4,009 yards. In his NFL career, Watters won Super Bowl XXIX with the 49ers, was named to the Pro Bowl five times, and finished with 10,643 rushing yards. 

    Guard Steve Hutchinson 

    Hutchinson was the 17th overall pick in the 2001 NFL Draft by the Seahawks after playing at the University of Michigan. Hutchinson helped lead the Seahawks to their first Super Bowl appearance in 2005 before leaving to sign a free agent contract with the Minnesota Vikings. Hutchinson played with the Vikings until 2011 and retired after playing one season for the Tennessee Titans in 2012. In his career, Hutchinson was named to the Pro Bowl seven times and was named First-team All Pro five times. 

    Punter Jeff Feagles 

    In his NFL career, Feagles played for the New England Patriots, Philadelphia Eagles, Arizona Cardinals, Seattle Seahawks, and New York Giants. Feagles played in Seattle from 1998 through 2002, and won Super Bowl XLII as a member of the Giants.

    Other notes: 

    -Running back Edgerrin James was also nominated to the 2020 class. James spent the majority of his NFL career with the Indianapolis Colts and Arizona Cardinals. He played only seven games for the Seahawks in 2009, recording 125 yards on 46 carries. 

    More Seahawks news from KIRO 7


    Next Up: