• Patty Murray defeats Chris Vance in U.S. Senate race


    Sen. Patty Murray was elected to a fifth term in the U.S. Senate, making the Democrat one of the longest-serving senators in Washington history.

    Murray defeated Republican Chris Vance, who was seeking to become the first Republican elected to the Senate from the state since 1994.

    Patty Murray (left) and Chris Vance (right)
    © 2019 Cox Media Group.

    Vance, the former Washington Republican Party chairman, had hoped his message of fiscal discipline and social moderation would resonate with state voters long turned off by the GOP.

    Murray, first elected in 1992, dismissed Vance's criticism that she is responsible for congressional gridlock and the failure to address deficit spending and shore up Social Security and Medicare. During the campaign she pointed to her work with Republicans on the budget and education as examples of how she can accomplish things in a tough environment.

    Get complete election coverage from kiro7.com

    >> Elections summary with brief overview of races

    >> See state-by-state results in real-time

    >> Watch live coverage of local and national races on KIRO7.com

    >> Sound Transit 3: Mass transit potential with property tax increase

    >> Washington governor race: Bryant takes on Inslee

    >> Gun initiative: Temporary suspension of firearm access goes to voters

    >> Jayapal, Walkinshaw battle for Jim McDermott’s District 7 seat

    >> Washington carbon tax has environmentalists clashing

    >> Patty Murray, Chris Vance battle in U.S. Senate race

    >> Minimum wage in Washington could increase with voter approval


    >> Get push alerts through election night with the KIRO 7 News app

    Next Up: