Burn ban issued for unincorporated Snohomish County, 17 cities and towns

EVERETT, Wash. — The Snohomish County fire marshal has announced a fire safety burn ban for unincorporated parts of the county.

[DOWNLOAD: Free KIRO 7 News app for alerts as news breaks]

The ban on outdoor burning will go into effect on Friday at 8 a.m.

Seventeen Snohomish County cities and towns are also participating in the ban. They are Arlington, Brier, Darrington, Edmonds, Everett, Granite Falls, Gold Bar, Index, Lynnwood, Marysville, Mill Creek, Mountlake Terrace, Monroe, Mukilteo, Snohomish, Stanwood and Sultan.

The ban was put in place because of high fire danger and forecasted hot and dry weather conditions over the weekend and into next week.

Temperatures are expected to be in excess of 100 degrees.

The ban does not apply to recreational fires in approved enclosures.

Agriculture burning is suspended during the ban.

[SIGN UP: KIRO 7 Daily Headlines Newsletter]

The ban will be in effect until there is a sustained period of rain and the fire risk returns to low.

To get recorded burn ban information for Snohomish County, call the Burning Information Line at 425-388-3508.